South Africa removed from the Rainbow Cup 2021

Watch Rugby International & All Leagues Live Streaming here

South Africa removed from the Rainbow Cup 2021

South Africa removed from the Rainbow Cup 2021

The South African team denied travel to Europe for the competition so that the tournament was divided into two events. The new schedule included 12 Pro14 teams and 4 South African teams Bulls, Sharks, Stormers, and Lions.

It was intended to serve as a precursor to the South African sides' ongoing involvement from 2021-22. Despite the Covid-19, both tournaments will take place in Europe and South Africa separately. This means that South African-based players who have to compete against the British and Irish Lions in the summer will not have any cross-border competition previously.

Leicester has won last year's Pro14 competition with a curtailed 2020-21 campaign. In 2020 December, the decision was made to curtail the season to make the new Rainbow Cup.

The new competition has scheduled to play on 23rd April and run till 19 June 2021. Before traveling to Europe, the Bulls, Sharks, Stormers, and Lions were set to stay in a bubble for the 2nd half of the competition.

The situation took a hit after the Pro14 boss admitted that the South African team had not formally approved the entry of the South African team in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland due to Covid-19 concerns.

The 2021 Rainbow Cup first three rounds played as per schedule for teams from Italy, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland.

Share this post